其他

20. 假若我委托代理放售物业并将物业的钥匙交给他,代理可否复制钥匙?
监管局建议,为避免日后争拗,将物业的钥匙交给地产代理从业员时,应要求从业员以书面形式签收并订明钥匙的用途、可否复制、复制的数量、在何等情况下交还钥匙。
21. 代理会否主动告诉我,将购入的单位是否「凶宅」?代理有否此责任?
根据《操守守则》,地产代理从业员必须秉持诚实、忠诚和严正的态度向客户提供服务、保障客户在地产交易中不因欺诈、失实陈述或不合专业操守的行为而受损、保障和促进客户的利益,并对交易各方公平公正。从业员亦应在履行职务时,尽量小心和尽一切应尽的努力。

然而,物业是否「凶宅」亦非《地产代理条例》内列明从业员需要提供的资料。从业员有否责任向你透露打算购入的物业曾涉及命案或是否「凶宅」,不能一概而论,视乎个别个案的实际情形而定。一般而言,倘若你没有向代理作出直接查询,又或者代理本身并不知道或不可能知道有关物业是否曾经发生上述事件,代理便没有违反《操守守则》。所以,监管局提醒所有准买家,假若关注欲购入的单位是否「凶宅」,应向代理或透过代理向卖家作出查询。

另外,由于「凶宅」在法律上并没有定义,而不同人对「凶宅」的定义或许会有所不同,因此监管局建议买家向代理查询时,使用比较清楚的词语(例如「物业内是否曾经发生自杀案或凶杀案?」) 而不要用含糊的词语(例如「这物业是否有『古灵精怪嘢?』」 或「这物业是否有『污糟嘢』?」 。

22. 我和太太想出售我们联名拥有的物业,我可否同时代表我太太委托代理及出售物业?
假若你想代表你的太太委托代理放售联名拥有的物业,你必须获得你太太的正式书面授权,其内容必须明确指出你获授权代表太太达成交易及签署有关文件。 「授权书」必须经签署及核证。为免争议,监管局建议「授权书」应由律师核证。你应向你委托的地产代理出示有关的授权书以证明你有权代表你太太进行交易。
23. 我有兴趣购入一单位,我的代理建议我向单位业主发出一张三万元的支票作为「诚意金」,我应否按代理的建议发出支票?
为保障本身利益,在未与业主就买卖条款达成共识,以及未签订临时买卖合约前,你不宜向任何人士(无论是单位业主或地产代理公司)以任何形式发出任何金额的支票。

Others

20. If I appoint an estate agent to sell my property and pass him the key to the property, can the agent duplicate the key?
To prevent future disputes, when you hand over the key to the estate agent, you should require the practitioner to acknowledge receipt of it and state clearly in writing the terms and conditions, such as the use of the key, whether he can duplicate it, and if so, the number of duplicates, and under what circumstances should the key be returned.
21. Will an estate agency tell me whether the unit I plan to buy is a “haunted” flat, that is, whether a tragic accident happened in the flat or nearby before? Does the agent have a duty to do so?
Under the Code of Ethics, estate agents must serve their clients with honesty, fidelity and integrity, protect their clients against fraud, misrepresentation or any unethical practices, protect and promote their clients’ interests, and act in a fair and impartial manner to all parties involved in the transactions. When fulfilling their duties, estate agents should also exercise due care and due diligence.

However, whether or not a flat is “haunted” is not a piece of information which must be provided by estate agents under the Estate Agents Ordinance. Whether an estate agent has a duty to disclose to the buyer that the property he intends to buy was previously involved in a murder or is a “haunted flat” depends on the circumstances of the case. Generally speaking, if you have not made direct enquiries with your agent or if the agent does not know or could not have known that such things ever happened in the property, the agent has not breached the Code of Ethics. Therefore, the EAA would like to remind you that if you are concerned about whether the flat you intend to buy is “haunted”, you should ask the agent or the vendor through the agent.

There is no legal definition of a “haunted flat” and different persons may have different interpretations of it. Therefore, the EAA suggests you be specific in your enquiries. You should ask, for example, whether a suicide or homicide took place in the flat before, and not use vague terms, such as whether the flat is “haunted” or “cursed”.

22. My wife and I want to sell our jointly owned property. Can I appoint an estate agent and sell the property on behalf of my wife?
If you want to appoint an estate agent to sell a jointly-owned property on behalf of your wife, you must obtain written authorisation from your wife which states clearly that you have been authorised by your wife to enter into the transaction and sign the necessary documents on her behalf. The power of attorney should be executed and attested properly. To avoid disputes, the EAA suggests the power of attorney be attested by a lawyer. You are also advised to show the power of attorney to your appointed estate agent to prove you are authorised to enter into the transaction on behalf of your wife.
23. I am interested in buying a flat and my estate agent recommends I issue a cheque of $30,000 as “earnest money” to the vendor. Should I do as suggested?
Before reaching an agreement with the vendor on the purchase, and before signing a provisional sale and purchase agreement, it is not advisable that you issue a cheque of any amount in any manner to anyone (regardless of whether the payee is the vendor or estate agency company).